Food containing haram (or non halal) substances is not halal for Muslims to consume. This includes pork/pork derived substances, ingredients derived from animals not slaughtered as halal (e.g., animal rennet, animal based E-numbers), intoxicating substances (ethnol/ethyl alcohol). Halal food contaminated with non-halal food substances becomes non-halal for Muslims to consume.